The 2011 Bamburi Rugby Super Series Team Profiles

27.04.2011

Eight franchises again participate in the 2011 Bamburi Rugby Super Series that kicks off on Saturday 30th April 2011, concluding on Saturday 4th June 2011. In the absence of Tanzania's Twigas, Mombasa's Coastal Bulls have taken their place. We have a sneak preview of the teams appearing below.

1. MUMIAS SUGAR BUFFALOES

Constituent teams : Kisumu, Kakamega, Webuye, Siaya, Masinde Muliro, Bungoma, Kisii

The Buffaloes won the title in 2005 when they were comprised of Nondies, Ulinzi and Kisumu. The new look Mumias Sugar Buffaloes was reconstituted in 2010 to accommodate the Western Kenya region's teams. Seventh in last year's event, the Buffaloes are out to post better results in the 2011 edition.

Provisional squad

David Muhanji, Martin Owillah, Meshack Owino, Newman Opiyo, Dick Osano, Bramwel Shikanda, Solomon Obiero, George Baguasi, Cyrus Kuya, Peter Paul, Richard Sidindi, Davis Chenge, Upton Lubanga, Victor Ang'awa, Alwin Machoka, Timothy Natembeya, Brian Lidonde, Moses Ambwere, Ammon Okoth, Henry Omindo, Augustine Lugonzo, Kelvin Mzee, Fidel Sinei, Christopher Ogweno, Jacob Owaa, Fred Maube, Felix Meshack, Kevin Wanga:

2. SDV TRANSAMI CHEETAHS

Constituent teams: Impala, Nondies, Homeboyz

The SDV Transami Cheetahs have won this tournament on two occasions, in 2004 and 2006. They were denied a third title when they fell 25-5 to the UAP Rhinos in last year's final. Can they break the jinx of not winning the BRSS in odd numbered years? Renowned for their fasr brand of rugby,we will just have to watch their performances and see how far they go.

Provisional squad

Steve Juma, Frank Ndong, Dennis Karani, Christian Josiah, Keith Kibira, Dennis Abenga, Joseph Mutisya, Moses Wanyagah, Mike Aung, George Odipo, Paul Oimbo, Seje Leo, Anthony Oyugi, Ian Indimuli, Kevin Umbuge, Ben Nyambu, Duncan Ekasi, Lawi Buyachi, Brian Nyikuli, Charles Kanyi, Moses Kola, Kiran Jethwa, Nato Simiyu, Peter Ocholla, Biko Adema, Steve Matioli, Kelvin Omiyo, Tony Nyandigisi, Innocent Simiyu, Tommy Blackwell, Dan Weku, Leslie Ochieng, Curtis Katembo, Vincent Mose

3. LIONS

Constituent teams: KCB, Mwamba

Champions in 2008 and third in 2010, the Lions boast the unenviable record of losing in four straight finals between 2004 and 2008. Traditionally strong in the forwards, the Lions will be out to make a strong start to the competition and proceed to the business end of the tournament as they go in pursuit of a second title.

Provisional squad

Edwin Alubaka, Moses Amusala, Derrick Wamalwa, Chris Kanyoi, Curtis Lilako, Salaton Muturi, Ronnie Mwenesi, Edwin Machanje, Dennis Mwanja, Paul Oketch, Anthony Ogot, Ken Isindu, Max Adaka, Louis Kisia, George Mbaye, Philip Wamae, Peter Mutai, Collins Kimani, Steve Sewe, Kevin Wambua, Dan Turungi, Dennis Ombachi, Chris Asego, Maurice Mbai, Brian Omondi, Fabian Olando, Edgar Abere, Benjamin Ojema, Matthew Musita, Calvins Biko,

4. UAP RHINOS

Constituent clubs: Nakuru, Quins

With four titles to their name (2003,2007,2009,2010), the Rhinos are the most successful team in Rugby Super Series history. In Daniel Kiptoo, they also boast of the tournament's most decorated player as he has been on all their title winning sides. Equally strong in the forwards and backs, the Rhinos have set their sights on rewriting the history books by claiming a third successful title, a year after becoming the first team to successfully defend the BRSS title. Can they do it?

Provisional squad

Vincent Ongera, Samuel Warui, Joel Ng'ang'a, Daniel Kiptoo, Isaiah Nyariki, Ezekiel Chege, Jared Owinyo, Martin Likami, Philip Owuor, Victor Oduor, Nick Lang'o, Mike Okombe, Leslie Libasia, Wilson K'Opondo, Bernard Chirchir, Edwin Achayo, Isaac Adimo, Chris Oduor, Patrice Agunda, Graham Kombo, Nick Barasa, Allan Omuka, Javan Murayi, Naftali Bondo, Victor Sudi, Peter Abuoga, Larry Safari, Calvin Otieno

5. RWENZORI

Third place finishers in 2009, Rwenzori had a forgettable campaign in 2010, bowing out at the group stages. The Ugandans are definitely seeking redemption. They will count on the experience of Anthony Kinene, Lawrence Wakabi amdd Ronald Adigais to navigate the group stages and make a serious push for the title when the tournament enters the knockout stages.

Provisional Squad

Ronald Adigasi, Oscar Echulu, Matial Tchumkam, Preston Ebber, Richard Aciko, Dan Obote, Patrick Oguru, Timothy Kabonero, Ivan Wavamuno, Ambrose Kakuru, Eric Butime, Roland Bahemuka, Andrew Olweny, Francis Odonga, Richard Musajjakabwe, Joseph Nsubuga, Ambrose Kamanyire, Anthony Kinene, Chris Lubanga, Greg Lukendo, Andrew Barasa, Paul Kabari, Adrian Wasswa, Patrick Leku,

Ian Karamira,Oscar Opio, Stephen Kasozi, Justine Kimono, Lawrence Wakabi, Simon Wakabi

6. NGUVU SHARKS

This side which is an amalgamation of Kenyan university sides made a dream 2009 campaign, reaching the semis. Their 2010 campaign was not as good as they bowed out in the group stages. With an abundance of talent, skill and youthful exuberance, the Sharks are no pushovers; they remain as dangerous as ever. They have their eyes set on going beyond the group stages.

Provisional Squad

Joshua Momanyi, Dennis Omusula, James Eroba, Meshack Ogichi, Kevin Gacheru, Tyson Ndune, Charles Omondi ,Joel Omer, John Kiilu, Edwin Ombogo, George Ouma, Victor Odera, Davis Makori, Michael Onsando, Maxwell Shikuku, Hastings Nyariki, Evans Kyalo, George Mutuku, Kelvin Ochieng, Kevin Bwire, Vincent Nyabiosi, Friday Alube, Jared Biwott, Kelvin Mungai, Dennis Atuyia, Joel Maingi, Favour Alube, Brian Kawala, Wesley Musera, Daniel Mubea, Cedric Odera, Brian Okwomi, Felix Wanjala, Kelvin Nyeusi, Vitalis Nyagoli, Felix Ayange, Ken Andola, Mike Wanjala, Antoine Ngera, Eden Agero, Oscar Ouma

7. VICTORIA

The second Ugandan side in the competition, Victoria reached the 2010 semis after bowing out in the group stages in 2009. Boasting the likes of George Scott Oluoch, Faisal Gamma, Jonathan Onen and Robert Seguya, Victoria certainly have their eyes trained on the region's biggest prize.

Provisional Squad

Arthur Mukama, Brian Odong, Dennis Mugabe, Simon Bakulupangi, Alex Mubiru, Solomon Mawanda, James Kimono, Romano Ogwal, Joel Anguyo, Timothy Ddumba, Richard Barigye, Victor Wadia, Mathias Ochwo, Dan Chanowira, George Scott Oluoch, Steve Ogwete, Robert Seguya, Allan Matsiko, Faisal Gamma, Joel Kimuli, Jasper Ochan, Evans King'asia, Stone Lugya, Michael Wokorach, Timothy Mudoola, Jude Kerumudu, Dennis Etuket, Jonathan Onen, Allan Musoke, Benon Kizza

8.COASTAL BULLS

They make their BRSS debut and will be out to give a good account of themselves. They have in their ranks Jotham Yahuma, Rogers Lai and Bobby Oyugi who boast previous Super Series franchise experience with the Lions and Cheetahs respectively.

Provisional Squad

Nicholas Odhach, Joe Kitao, Stephen Ottou, Bernard Okoth, Edward Oseko, Kalama Juma, Allan Orembo, Elisha Owuor, Eugene Okwiri, Chris Atingo, Kevin Kabue, Paul Ochieng, Hesbon Mataya, Eric Baraka, Harun Okello, Rogers Lai, Edgar Ongechi, Jeremy Matata, Peterson Okolla, Jotham Yahuma, Stafford Abeka, Churchill Amimo, Andrew Aseka, Peter Makuba, Darwin Mukidza, Ernest Ngong, Elisha Simiyu, Bobby Oyugi, Raymond Kidiga, David Omondi